The Music Reformation

It was a few weeks ago when I was coming back to Dakar to start the ninth grade. As someone who can’t sleep on a plane, eat the food, or sit in one place for too long, I needed something that would distract me for as long as possible. The answer to that? Music. Believe or not, that didn’t help either. At least, until I came across this one song. This song was amazing and borderline phenomenal. What made this song so special was that it was a rap song that came out last year. It wasn’t the typical rap song talking about partying and being rich; it was REAL.  These days, I feel it’s almost hopeless to find such a raw and meaningful lyrics in a rap song. Because of that song, I’m starting to try and look at rap and music in general from a new perspective. I’m so glad this happened because I like listening to music in the morning. I realized that one of the best moments of my day is listening to music on my iPod and letting each word and beat sink in.

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Music Reformation

  1. This is amazing, and you are completely right. There are not such raw meaningful songs anymore. This basically read my mind in the perspective of music, but now all i am wondering about is which song was that…?

    • I am glad you agree with me. The song was “No Role Modelz” by J Cole. I think he’s one of the rappers that puts more meaning into their songs. I hope you like the song!

  2. I wonder that what is that music call, or who makes it? how it makes you feel like that? Just like you I also like to listen to music in the morning. When I went to school, when I walked, I like to listen to my favorite music again and again.

    • I’m glad you also listen to music in the morning. It’s called “No Role Modelz” by J Cole. It seems like a normal, meaningless rap song but it talks about a lot of hardships. Hope you like it!

  3. wow I like the way you got the music spirit. I also enjoy listening to rap and i can even spend almost an hour listening to my favorite without getting tired of it

  4. I think it’s great when someone has a realization like yours. They seem so empowered and excited about it. I’m glad you found some happiness in this. Perhaps you might share a link to the song or artist next time?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *